MAHE – Distinguished Home Economist Award

Member recognition for significant contribution to the professional association at a provincial level. One award can be given each year and is presented at the annual general meeting. Congratulations to our 2022 winner, Sheila Stark, PHEc!

University of Manitoba Awards

The following awards are managed by the University of Manitoba and are open to current students. Learn more and apply for these awards at

The Manitoba Association of Home Economists Bursary

There are two annual bursaries, both valued at half the available interest and a one year membership to MAHE and are offered to University of Manitoba undergraduates with demonstrated financial need. Application deadline is October 1st of academic year.

  1. Offered to undergraduates enrolled full time (min 60% course load) in a Bachelor of Education degree program in the Faculty of Education, in any year of the program, with a declared major in Home Economics. Must have a minimum 2.0 GPA or has met admission requirements for the BEd program.
  2. Offered to undergraduates enrolled full time (min 60% course load) in the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences in either a Bachelor of Health Sciences or Bachelor of Health Studies degree program. Must have a minimum 2.0 GPA.

Dean Ruth E. Berry – Manitoba Association of Home Economists Scholarship

The award honours an undergraduate student in any year enrolled full time in the University of Manitoba’s Faculty of Education, with a teachable major or minor in Human Ecology, minimum GPA of 3.5, and demonstrated leadership abilities and/or a commitment to community through their volunteer activities. The scholarship amount is dependent on the annual income from the award fund.

The selection committee is named by the Dean of the Faculty and shall include a representative from MAHE. Previously, this award was offered to students in the Faculty of Human Ecology and was transitioned to the Faculty of Education in 2020. Application deadline is March 31st annually.

MAHE – Excellence in Teaching Award

(*Award is currently under review*) Bestowed annually to a teaching member of the Faculty of Human Ecology or the Faculty of Education (home economics/human ecology), University of Manitoba, to honour an individual who has displayed a high quality of teaching ability, which includes communication, integrity, scholarship, leadership, experience, and service to the community to enhance the quality and standards of education for her/his students.

Excellence in Teaching Award Criteria

The award includes the recipient’s name being engraved on the plaque which is located in the main hallway of the Human Ecology Building. On behalf of students, the recipient is presented with a plaque for her/his contribution at the Ringing Ceremony.

View a list of past recipients.

MAHE – Student Membership Award

(*Award is currently under review*) This award honours a 4th year student and introduces the winner to the professional Association via a one year free Student membership. The award selection is made by the Faculty of Human Ecology Professors.

Canadian Home Economics Foundation Awards

The Canadian Home Economics Foundation provides grants and awards to support work of Canadian home economists in home economics research, education and public service projects, as well as post-secondary professional education and training.

For a complete listing of the grants and awards available visit the Canadian Home Economics Foundation website. The following is a sample of the funds offered.

General Fund

Donations to this major fund support a variety of projects in home economics research, education and public service. Two specific projects are also supported from this Fund:

  1. Dr. Elizabeth Feniak Award for Excellence in Technical Writing : offers prizes in an annual writing competition open to senior undergraduate students, and those in graduate studies, in home economics and related programs at Canadian universities, for the best original papers reviewing recent research or new developments in one of the areas within home economics.
  2. Resource for Youth (Patricia J. Hames) Award: offers grants to Canadian primary, elementary or secondary home economics / family studies educators to support projects directed to developing life skills in Canadian youth or assisting in program areas lacking special funding by schools or families.

Designated Funds

Held separately from the General Fund, these funds were initiated by associations or individuals to pay tribute to a home economist, or to support a specific project area.

  • Edith Rowles Simpson Recognition Fund : an annual award for professional updating in family finance.
  • Engberg-Fewster International Development Fund : supports projects by Canadian home economists and their colleagues in the developing world.
  • Gwen E. Leslie Memorial Lecture Fund : an annual public lecture or lectures on food or health protection topics.
  • Gwenyth Bailey Simpson Communications Award: supports projects that disseminate information to the public on current developments on topics related to food, general nutrition or consumer information and that involve a home economist or professional in a related field.
  • Margaret Speechly Stansfield Memorial Fund : an annual award to support research or innovative public service or education projects in consumer economics or family resource management.

Retired MAHE Awards

MAHE – Winnipeg Distinguished Service Award – Discontinued as of 2010.

Recognized a deserving member who had demonstrated integrity, leadership, scholarship and breadth of knowledge in the profession and who had contributed significantly to the profession and/or the Winnipeg association. A framed certificate was presented at the AGM. View a list of past award recipients.